Einbinder Emily
  • Posted 3 years ago by Einbinder Emily
  • Blog
  • The Flairs
  • Pin It

Cloé Bailly est une scénariste et réalisatrice. J’ai rencontré Cloé à Los Angeles, il y a plus d’un an à une soirée Karaoké en plein Korean Town. J’avais alors trouvé que ce joli brin de femme détenait énormément de potentiel. Pourtant je n’avais jamais vu son travail et il a fallu qu’elle partage son film Sonia Rykiel la semaine dernière pour que mon intuition se confirme.  Son portrait devait apparaitre sur The Parisian Flair.

Née en banlieue parisienne, elle a vécu dans le sud de la France (près de Marseille et d’Aix-en-Provence) jusqu’à ses 18 ans.  Après son bac international, elle emménage à Paris. Parallèlement à ses études de lettres à la Sorbonne, elle continue l’acting (12 ans de théâtre dans le sud et au cours Florent ). Elle se rend vite compte que c’est l’autre côté de la caméra qui l’intéresse et se lance finalement en tant qu’assistante réalisatrice – après un passage par le journalisme (chez Le Fooding ou Les Editions Jalou). En 2013, elle décide de partir à Los Angeles et entre dans l’équipe de Dimitri Basil où ils tournent entre L.A et Sydney. A l’issue de cette collaboration très formatrice, elle se lance en solo. Elle vit maintenant entre Paris et L.A, et réalise des pubs, des clips, et des films de mode. Son court métrage « These People », entre en festivals, et elle est en projet d’écriture d’un programme court (TV) avec son amie Lola Bessis ainsi que d’un long métrage.

Qu’est-ce que vous pensez de Paris et des Parisiens en général Schizophrène. Un jour Paris est pour moi la ville la plus belle et la plus poétique du monde, et le lendemain je la trouve oppressante, stressante et grise. Pareil pour les parisiens.

Es-tu romantique? Complètement.  Mais pas dans le sens « dîner aux chandelles ». Je rêve de grands sentiments, de sublime, de grandiose. Je suis romanesque plus que romantique, en fait.

Ton rêve? Continuer à réaliser et écrire une tonne de projets divers et variés. Et surtout, pouvoir travailler avec les gens que j’aime, en construisant une famille de film. Et puis vivre pour de bon entre Paris et Los Angeles! Je ne dirais pas non à un petit Oscar non plus…

1. Parlons Cuisine française

Ton restaurant préféré et ses plats en France? Un flan pâtissier de chez Julhès, une orgie chez Clamato ou chez Miznon, un bol veggie chez Bob’s Kitchen, des pasta alla norma chez Casa Bini ou Procopio Angelo, un bento chez Mussubi ou Ma Kitchen, un pho rue Saint-Anne… Rien de très franchouillard, en fait. Ah si: une planche de fromage, plus ou moins n’importe où.

 

 

clamato paris

Quelle est ta madeleine de Proust? J’en ai tant… A choisir: une baguette fraîche tartinée de beurre bien froid.

2. Parlons Cinéma français

Le dernier film que tu as vu? Les Combattants. Je suis complètement fan d’Adèle Haenel dont la force et l’intelligence de jeu me fascinent à chaque fois.

Ton film français préféré? Difficile de choisir… “Le Charme discret de la bourgeoisie” de Buñuel, “La Collectionneuse” de Rohmer, “Un Homme et une femme” de Lelouch, et dans un tout autre genre: “Le Roi et l’oiseau” de Grimault. 

Ta citation de film préférée? J’aimerais vous donner une réponse plus intello, mais: n’importe quelle réplique dans “Les Visiteurs”.

Un acteur/actrice fétiche? Jean-Paul Belmondo jusqu’aux années 80. Sinon, j’ai toujours eu un petit truc pour Romain Duris. Et pour les actrices, en vrac: Anouk Aimée, Isabelle Huppert, Charlotte Rampling, Catherine Deneuve, Romy Schneider, Stéphane Audran. Plus récemment, Julie Delpy et Adèle Haenel

3. Parlons Art français

Ton musée préféré? Le musée d’Orsay. Je suis hyper classique dans mes goûts en matière d’art. Et puis l’architecture du musée d’Orsay est dingue, c’est presque une expo en soi.

4. Parlons Évasion française

Quel est l’endroit qui te parait le plus français à L.A.? J’ai plutôt tendance à fuir les lieux trop “frenchy” à L.A… Mais de temps en temps j’aime aller siroter un bon verre de rouge dans la partie bistrot de chez Stella. Sinon, la cour ombragée du Daily Dose a quelque chose de très européen.

café stella,french,parisian,flair,silverlake,guide

5. Parlons Style français 

Ton parfum? Flower Bomb (Rose Explosion) de Viktor & Rolf.

La quintessence du style français? Un t-shirt blanc en coton et un Levis 501 (ou un pantalon à pince) + un (beau) trench beige aux manches un peu retroussées

6. Parlons Littérature française 

Les livres français qui t’ont le plus touché? Aurélien d’Aragon et La Promesse de l’Aube de Gary.

 

Ton mot français préféré? Pourquoi? Breuvage. C’est hyper bizarre mais j’ai toujours aimé la consonance de ce mot.

7. Parlons Musique française 

Tes paroles préférées? Un classique: “J’avoue j’en ai bavé pas vous, mon amour…”

102048158-1006138448

Merci beaucoup pour ta joie de Vivre Cloé! Nous attendons impatiemment la projection de “These People”. 

(Post portrait © ® Juliette Abitbol)

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Garance Staehli or the dancing “Warrior”

  • 6 months ago
  • Blog
  • The Flairs

(English) One of The Parisian Flair’s favorite movie is “Les enfants du Paradis” Children of Paradise, which tells the story of beautiful Garance, and the four men who love her in their own ways. How can you not love Garance Staehli? At a the age of 7, she finds her passion: DANCING!

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Le Nounours est arrivé …

  • 1 year ago
  • Blog

Qui a dit que les nounours étaient uniquement pour les enfants? Commandez vos oursons Parisian Flair pour faire sourire vos êtres chers.     COMMANDEZ ICI  COMMANDEZ ICI 

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

La Langue Vivante

  • 1 year ago
  • Blog
  • Discover
  • The Flairs

Caroline m’a donné rendez-vous à son café parisien préféré Ten Belles dans le 10ème à Paris, pour répondre à mes questions. Elle est enjouée et très dynamique, j’ai tout de suite accroché avec cette foodie. Après 6 ans d’études acharnées de pharma, des journées à délivrer des médicaments, Caroline réalise que tout ça l’intéresse moins que ce qui […]

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Le Flair madrilène – Comida

  • 2 years ago
  • Blog

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en English.

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Le Flair Madrilène – el empezó

  • 2 years ago
  • Blog
  • Discover

(English) About two weeks ago now, I was so excited to meet with my Spanish friends. As soon as I landed, I took the subway and went straight to the Palentino (a famous authentic Bar) to have my Cerveza and share a Bocadillo (sandwich) with mi amigo.

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

La nouvelle vision de Yann Houri ou son art émotionnel

  • 2 years ago
  • Blog
  • Discover
  • The Flairs
  • Visual arts

Les œuvres de Yann Houri interrogent notre rapport au passé et nous mettent au défi de vivre dans le présent en se focalisant sur la complexité des émotions et des sentiments de l’être humain.  C’est une expérience vivante qui s’intensifie au fil du temps, d’où la dynamique de mouvement donnée par l’artiste à travers ses fines expressions […]

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Charlotte, une danseuse ambitieuse

  • 2 years ago
  • Blog
  • The Flairs

VERSION française en cours …  

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Julia Van Hagen … globetrotteuse et dénicheuse de tendances

  • 3 years ago
  • Blog
  • Style

“Mon style est comme un cocktail je ne suis pas aussi apprêtée qu’une française mais je m’en fiche comme une anglaise” Jane Birkin J’ai rencontré Julia la semaine dernière à N.Y.C. Une amie nous a mis en contact : “il faut que tu la rencontres, vous allez vous entendre!”. Elle avait raison. Nous partageons cette engouement […]

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Les 15 ans du Fooding : un Chapitre explosif de l’Histoire Culinaire

  • 3 years ago
  • Blog
  • Eat

La revanche des Faubourgs Fondé en 2000 chez Nova rue du Faubourg-Saint-Antoine dans le 11ème, le concept du Fooding est simple : promouvoir et honorer des initiatives originales et libres à travers ses médias et ses événements. Pour souffler ses quinze bougies de révolution culinaire et culturelle, le Fooding a décidé de convier le gratin des […]

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Liné Jagot, quand l’Art rencontre la mode …

  • 3 years ago
  • Blog

THE PARISIAN FLAIR est tombé sous le charme de cette sublime marque française et de sa créatrice. Étant moi-même intéressée par la photographie, je n’ai jamais su où ranger mon appareil. C’est alors que j’ai découvert Liné Jagot! La créatrice, Victoria Couroussé styliste passionnée de mode et de photo, n’a jamais réussi à mettre la main sur […]

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Sign Up For Newsletter

Parisian Must Have

Einbinder Emily
  • Posted 2 years ago by Einbinder Emily
  • Blog
  • The Flairs
  • Pin It

Cloé Bailly is a Director & a screenwriter. I met Cloé in Los Angeles more than a year ago during a Karaoké night in Korean Town. I never saw her work until last week when she posted her film for Sonia Rykiel. I then automatically thought she had to be interviewed for The Parisian Flair!

Born near Paris , she lived in the South of France (near Marseille & Aix-en-Provence) until she was 18 years-old. After graduating high-school, she moved to Paris. While she was studying Liberal Arts at the Sorbonne, she was also acting. She went to the Cours Florent & studied theater for more than 12 years. She rapidly understood she preferred being behind the camera and starts working as a assistant director after having working as a journalist for Le Fooding or Les Editions Jalou. In 2013, she moved to LA as part of Dimitri Basil’s film crew & shoots in Sydney & Los Angeles. After this rich collaboration, she decided to start freelancing and now living between Paris & L.A. , directing commercials, music videos and fashion films. Her short film « These People »is promised for diverse film festivals and she is in the writing process of a TV short format with her friend Lola Bessis as well as a feature film.

How do you feel about Paris & Parisian people? Schizophrenic. Some days, Paris is the most beautiful & poetic city in the world, and the next morning, I find it oppressing, stressful and grey. Same goes for Parisians.

What does Parisian Flair mean to you? Good taste.

Are you romantic? 100%! But not a « candle-light dinner » type. I dream of great feelings, of Sublime, Greatness. Actually, I’m romanesque more than romantic.

Your dream? Pursue my passion for directing & screenwriting for a lot of various projects. And above all, to be able to work with people I love and build a true film family. And live for good between Paris & L.A! I also wouldn’t say no to a little Oscar either …

1. Let’s talk about French Food

Your favorite meal(s) in France? A flan at chez Julhès, an orgy at Clamato or at Miznon, a veggie bowl at Bob’s Kitchen, pasta alla norma at Casa Bini or Procopio Angelo, a bento at Mussubi or Ma Kitchen, a pho on Sainte-Anne Street … Nothing very Frenchy actually. Oh wait a minute, a cheese plate, more or less anywhere in France.

clamato paris

What is your Madeleine de Proust? I have so many … To pick one: a baguette just out of the oven with very cold butter.

2. Let’s talk about French cinema

Last French movie you saw? Love at first fight. I’m a huge fan of Adèle Haene who’s acting intelligence & strength fascinates me each time.

Your Favorite French movie? Hard to choose … « the discreet charm of the Bourgeoisie » by Buñuel  « La Collectionneuse » by Rohmer, «  A Man & a Woman » by Claude Lelouch, and on a complete different note « The King & the Mockingbird » by Grimault.

Your Favorite movie quote? I would love to give you an answer more intellectual, but any extract from the movie « Les Visiteurs ».

Favorite French actor? Jean-Paul Belmondo until the 80s. Otherwise, I always had a little thing for Romain Duris. And for the actresses, loosely: Anouk Aimée, Isabelle Huppert, Charlotte Rampling, Catherine Deneuve, Romy Schneider, Stéphane Audran. More recently, Julie Delpy and Adèle Haene.

3. Let’s talk about French art

Your favorite French museum? The Orsay Museum. I’m very classical in my artistic tastes. And the Musée d’Orsay’s architecture is incredible, it’s almost an exhibit by itself.

4. Let’s talk about French escape

What is the place that feels the most French in LA? I have a tendency to run from the places that are « too Frenchie » in L.A. … But from time to time, I like to grab a glass of red wine in the bistro area of Café Stella in Silverlake. Otherwise, the shadowed courtyard of the Daily Dose has something very European.

café stella,french,parisian,flair,silverlake,guide

What do you miss about France when in LA? GOOD red wine!

5. Let’s talk about French style

Your perfume? Flower Bomb by Viktor & Rolf.

What is the quintessential French look to you? A cotton white T-shirt and a Levis 501 (or a pair of feminine trousers) and a (nice) beige trench coat with the sleeves a bit rolled up.

6. Let’s talk about French literature

The French book that most moved you? Aurélien by Aragon and the Promise at Dawn by Romain Gary.



Your favorite French word? Why? Breuvage (beverage). It’s really weird but I always loved the sound of it.

7. Let’s talk about French music

Best French lyrics? A classic: « I confess it was a hard sweat, my love … »

102048158-1006138448

Merci beaucoup for your time Cloé! Looking forward to watching your upcoming short movie “These People”.


(Post portrait © ® Juliette Abitbol)

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Garance Staehli or the dancing “Warrior”

  • 1 month ago
  • Blog
  • The Flairs

One of The Parisian Flair’s favorite movie is “Les enfants du Paradis” Children of Paradise, which tells the story of beautiful Garance, and the four men who love her in their own ways. How can you not love Garance Staehli? At a the age of 7, she finds her passion: DANCING!

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Parisian Teddy is here …

  • 8 months ago
  • Blog

Qui a dit que les nounours étaient uniquement pour les enfants? Commandez vos oursons Parisian Flair pour faire sourire vos êtres chers.     COMMANDEZ ICI 

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

The living Tongue

  • 9 months ago
  • Blog
  • Discover
  • The Flairs

I met with Caroline at her favorite coffee shop  Ten Belles in the 10th in Paris for this cool interview.  She has a great soul, dynamic and positive, I connected with this foodie in a heartbeat.   CHECK OUT HER INSTAGRAM How do you feel about Paris and Parisians in general?  I’m in love with Paris. I live there since 31 years […]

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Madrilenian Flair – Comida

  • 1 year ago
  • Blog

Olé! Olé! Tengo Hambre!  Madrid is full of surprises. I am very lucky to speak Spanish and to be able to live the authentic experience while staying with my Madrilenian friends in the barrio of Malasaña. Almost every morning, I go to the groceries or market (mercado) to buy fresh products and we exchange our recipes […]

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Madrilenian Flair – el empezó

  • 1 year ago
  • Blog
  • Discover

About two weeks ago now, I was so excited to meet with my Spanish friends. As soon as I landed, I took the subway and went straight to the Palentino (a famous authentic Bar) to have my Cerveza and share a Bocadillo (sandwich) with mi amigo.

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Yann Houri’s new vision: the complexity of Mankind

  • 2 years ago
  • Blog
  • Discover
  • The Flairs
  • Visual arts

The paintings of Yann Houri focus on the complexity of the human subject and translate human emotions and time challenges into how we define ourselves in this mechanical and virtual age. The capture of each moment of life and each vibration is what human kind fails to admire in a contemporary lifestyle that pushes him […]

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Dancing in the light with Charlotte …

  • 2 years ago
  • Blog
  • The Flairs

I was about to publish Charlotte’s interview, sitting in my usual Coffee Shop in Williamsburg, when I got inspired for a title “Dancing in the light …” The inspiration of the song “Dancing in the Dark”, which resonates with me. The oddest thing happened as I pressed the publish button. Bruce Springsteen started invading the entire coffee shop. […]

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Julia Van Hagen: A Worldwide Fashion Curator

  • 2 years ago
  • Blog
  • Style

“My look is a cocktail. I’m not as nicely turned out as the french, but I don’t care like the English. ” Jane Birkin  I met Julia through a close friend last week in N.Y.C. We connected immediately on our passion for promoting talents worldwide. She is strongly committed to finding the best fashion pieces […]

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Le Fooding: Celebrating 15 years of Culinary Revolution

  • 2 years ago
  • Blog
  • Eat

The Faubourgs’ revenge You have never heard of « Le Fooding » before? It’s time to change & get to know more about this innovative, creative & inspiring French concept. Founded in 2000, in the faubourgs of gastronomic right-mindedness, Le Fooding has been promoting original & creative initiatives. To celebrate 15 years of culinary and cultural revolution, […]

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Liné Jagot: when Art meets Fashion

  • 2 years ago
  • Blog

The Parisian Flair fell in love with this wonderful French brand and her designer . I take a lot of pictures myself and never knew where to put my camera, until I discovered these cool handbags.  The founder/designer of these unique handbags & wallets is Victoria Couroussé. She is my favorite type of Parisian since […]

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

Sign Up For Newsletter

Parisian Must Have